2015 Scholarship Recipients

We are pleased to announce the 2015 Recipients of Scholarships held by the Community Foundation for Nantucket.

CFN was honored to award $46, 500 to 19 deserving students this year.


The Gary & Glen DaSilva Scholarship, established to provide a scholarship to a graduating senior who has been a member of the Nantucket High School Golf Team, or a graduating senior who will be attending a certified trade school after completion of High School, awarded $1, 500 to Owen Sullivan.  Owen will be attending  UMASS Dartmouth.

The Geronimo’s Scholarship  provides scholarships to students or community members interested in pursuing studies or training in an animal related field.  This year a scholarship of $1, 000 went to Samantha Gray who will attend UMass Amherst.

The Jack Pignato Memorial Scholarship provides scholarships to graduates of Nantucket High School who are furthering their education in the fields of math or science. Sabrina Kyburg received $1500 to attend University of Vermont.

The Jeanette T. Garneau Scholarship  provides scholarships to Nantucket High School seniors.  This  scholarship  will help foster and instill the need for community service and civic awareness in young people.  Kezia Duarte (Quinnipiac College class of 2019) and Lydia Gullicksen (Randolph-Macon College class of 2018) were the recipients of $1, 500 o for 4 years.

The June Bartlett Scholarship  is  awarded to graduating Seniors or former graduates of Nantucket High School who are pursuing an education in agricultural sciences.  This year $500 each went to 4 deserving students.  Keegan Bartlett – U of Maine at Orono, Christopher Gottlieb – Florida Southern College, Mya Kotalac – UC Berkely, and Julia Wendelken – UMass Amherst.

The Magical Chicken Scholarship will be given to a student who has demonstrated interest and intends to pursue a degree in or related to Computer Science, Computer Engineering, or Information Technology.  Nicholas O’Keefe (Full Sail University) received a $1,000 scholarship award to pursue this interest.

The Nantucket Culinary Arts Scholarship provides scholarships to students who have demonstrated excellence in culinary arts. Congratulations to Chelsea Clarkson who received $500 to attend the New England Culinary Institute!

The  Pat Martin Scholarship Fund  provides scholarships to a graduating senior or past graduate of Nantucket High School who demonstrates a spirit of giving through his/her extracurricular activities and interest in civic affairs.  Leah Hull, who will be attending  PACE University, received $1000 from this Fund.

The William H. Brown Scholarship awards $5000 to 2 graduating seniors each year for four (4) years to support their ongoing education. The Selection Committee looks for students who display creativity, moral integrity, curiosity and the desire to learn about and contribute to the greater world. The recipients are as follows:

Ashmita K.C.              Simmons College  (2019)

Michael Proch           St. Michael’s College (2019)

Olivia Funderburg  Wellesley College (2018)

Ronan Daly                New York University (2018)

Dylan Perry                Stonehill University (2017)

Casey Lendway        St Michael’s College (2017)

Viva Isaragumpot    UMass Amherst (2016)

Congratulations to all these deserving Island students.  We here at The Community Foundation for Nantucket wish you all the best in your endeavors at school and beyond!                                                                                                                      



Translate »